RSS Feed

Veggie Saute

veggiesauteSauteed veggies are a common dish for me to prepare with whatever tasty vegtables are available and seasonal at the time.

Brown rice 1 cup

Italian Tuscan Kale 2 leaves

3 cherry tomatoes

2 button mushrooms

2 cloves of garlic

1/8 of an onion

sprinkle of tamari (GF)

1/4 tsp of turmeric

1/4 tsp of ginger

I always start the saute the same way, with some olive oil and thinly sliced garlic or onions.  Once they start to become fragrant and translucent I’ll add in some spices – like turmeric, oregano and cayenne.  [Note: It’s best to use turmeric with black pepper also because it amplifies the effectiveness of it’s active anti-inflammatory nature by 1000-2000%!]  Shortly, I’ll add the next batch of veggies – in this case it was button mushrooms and cherry tomatoes roughly chopped (could be also with zucchini, bell peppers). I like to let these cook for a short while, a few minutes stirring occasionally so they get soft and the flavors start to marry with each other.  You can add any type of grain you like next (quinoa is also nice), here I’ve got some cooked brown rice, which I added about a cup to the pan with a little extra olive oil (about a TB). Stir the rice to coat and allow it to absorb the flavors already in the pan.  I chopped up some ginger super finely, about a 1/2 tsp and add to the pan, with a sprinkle of tamari (gluten free) stirring as I add.  And finally, in a few more minutes, add your leaves – whatever green leafies you like best – here I’ve added 2 leaves of dino kale (Italian Tuscan kale). Here I’ve omitted the stalks, as I didn’t blanch it or steam it first and the stalks are a bit tough. I always add the leaves last – it could be spinach, arugula, or swiss chard easily as well.  Voila! Super healthy snack or meal.

Leave a Reply

